See our COVID-19 statement here.


Empty Shopping cart



Shadows In Sunshine

Richard V Frankland

Ian Vaughan. Family man… once. Now recruited to the SIS and fresh out of training, his first field op looks to be almost a breeze. His assignment sounds highly achievable – a mission to befriend a charismatic politician who, in the wake of the failed Arab Spring, has conceived a unification plan for the North African oil and gas producing nations. Western governments welcome the plan, but other forces are at work…

A conference to present the plan is to be held on the beautiful island of Madeira and Vaughan, using the cover of a maritime author, is dispatched to the island, assisted by the Royal Navy. En route, he rescues a boy adrift on a sailboard and comes into contact with his widowed mother who is host to her Brazilian uncle, unaware that his entire ambitions could destroy the European economy.


Greed and death lay in the shadows as Vaughan finds himself embroiled in conspiracy and danger, challenging both his judgement and his courage.

The third book in the Vaughan series, Shadows in Sunshine continues the thrilling pace of its predecessors and charts the waters of international espionage with poise and finesse.

Paperback  |   Hardback   |   eBook


Richard’s early working life was as a construction engineer, a career that took him abroad to work in Zambia and Jordan for one of Britain’s leading consulting engineers. Returning home he joined a major japanese corporation, administering large civil and industrial projects in Europe, Africa and the Far East. It was during this period that he had the idea for his first novel and early chapters written. A career change, to help run a small family business, gave him the time to read for a Masters Degree in Maritime Studies, a subject that had been of lifelong interest to him. It was due to the encouragement of his wife and friends that he took up writing again completing his first novel, A Cast of Hawks, which was published in 2010. The sequel, Batsu, followed in 2012 and the third book in the Ian Vaughan thriller series, Shadows in Sunshine, was published in January 2015 followed by In Treacherous Waters last year. Shadows Beneath The Long White Cloud continues Ian Vaughan’s adventures. He is currently writing the sixth book, presenting further challenges for his hero to overcome.