See our COVID-19 statement here.


Empty Shopping cart



Time Lies

M.J. Dermott

Aspiring young actor, Gus, is invited to London to play Hamlet in a youth theatre project. But all is not as it seems and Gus is plunged into a dangerous world of lies and espionage that reaches far beyond the play and its players, leaving Gus fighting for his life.

As Gus lies unconscious, he attempts to unravel the strange events of that summer - his renewed friendship with time travelling Jaz, from 2404, who takes him back in time to meet his hero, Shakespeare; the mysterious theft of the Kohinoor Diamond from the Tower of London, and the shadowy figure of his actor agent, Oliver Salieri.

Time Lies is the sequel to Time Passages. It is a gripping adventure and spy story, but with a serious message, as Jaz reveals a bleak future for Earth due to pollution and the devastating consequences of climate change.

Paperback  |   Hardback   |   eBook


M. J. Dermott was brought up on a diet of outdoor adventure, reading and extensive travel. She changed address so frequently and in so many different countries, that her friends were convinced she was an international spy.


After nearly forty years of her real job in nursing and health visiting, she has retired to concentrate on a long-held ambition to write for older children, in the strong belief that the only limitation to a child's personal growth is his capacity to read, and to imagine.


She now lives in Gloucestershire with her husband and two grown-up children.